11/01/2016

Open Street Map is an Open Source, Collaborative project to create a free editable map of the world. I provides free map information to its users. One can edit these maps and add their locations on that. It is too easy to implement. Three days before, suddenly I decided to create OSM tile Server on my laptop. I followed following tutorial.

https://switch2osm.org/serving-tiles/manually-building-a-tile-server-14-04/

It explains everything – the procedure of installation in a very good way. On a first try I was able to render the data of India. Here, I’m sharing some problem I faced during its installation and solution of those too.

The very first problem I faced while running ./make.py.

ValueError: Expecting delimiter: line 8 column 19 (char 298)

There was a syntax error. I removed all the lines starting with ; from osm-bright.osm2pgsql.mml file.
https://github.com/mapbox/osm-bright/issues/105 (For me this worked. Please check, is it ok or not?)

Next was in rendering. First, was https://lists.openstreetmap.org/pipermail/dev/2011-June/022977.html and the second was also incorrect path of files, after setting the correct path, a tile generated on the browser. Also, it was taking too long while rendering, so I followed this http://gis.stackexchange.com/questions/102323/tiles-taking-too-long-to-render. At the end, I used next tutorial to create maps using OpenLayer, But it was taking files from web not from my local database. There was again a url issue. I changed my path and pink files generated. One error still coming is:

“Failed to read cmd on fd”
https://github.com/openstreetmap/mod_tile/issues/77

Then discussed this with Dr. Rai, he advised to create tiles manually through mapnik. Also, read about make.

Published by

kaurdavinder

I am the one who discover myself daily through reading, writing, interacting with people and expressing my thoughts to inspire them if I would be able to bring a little change to the society through my work. I write blogs, participate in various social activities and want to be a Professional Speaker. Currently, I am pursuing my post graduation in Computer Applications from Guru Nanak Dev Engineering College, Ludhiana and I’m very much active in many technical & social communities.

Leave a Reply

