13th July

My experience of work from home gave me a new way to learn. It was the day when I spent most of the time with my laptop, working all the time and with great interest and enthusiasm. What I did yesterday, I’m gonna share here with you-

When I opened my eyes in the morning, it was raining out side. I was in a deep thought whether I should go for college or not because I could see the bad weather ahead. The dark, smoky clouds everywhere, threatening rain. As I was already suffering from fever, so I decided to work for home and wrote a mail to Dr. Rai for the permission and yes! permission granted. At 9:00 am I started my work. First of all, I read all the mails, news and then moved to image processing. Here, I found a package for video processing but it was not implemented in octave yet. So, I downloaded it from GitHub. There were so many dependencies which were required to be installed. So, I installed those, but the requirement was of the latest version. So, I compiled from git and got errors, shared on GD mailing list. When I was waiting for response, I did these- creating circle, fillcolor. ipaste, iline, testpattern didn’t worked here in octave, may be used with other names. Creating line was simple and function for gradient effect was there.

Soon, I got reply from Bhushan, I got busy in compiling again. It didn’t work, but I have learned a lot from it. This time, I didn’t get frustrated from my work. I was actually enjoying this. Something is changed in me, I can feel that. Then I used ‘repmat’ function to repeat the vector values in a matrix we define. I installed ‘irssi’ on console mode, practiced with git while cloning code, was much active on mailing list, attended the ocean week of camp google. Oh it was great. There are so many things which are pending to be searched on but still best was OpenROV. OpenROV stands for open source remotely operated vehicle, which run with C batteries, BeagleBone Linux  and is telerobotic underwater vehicle. It costs $900 and has ~2.5 kg wait. It has many features and benefits. Recently, ROS (The Robotic Operatic System) integrated with OpenROV to make it better. You can read more at ROS Integration with OpenROV. I also came to know that recently, a company has launched a friendship bracelet that teaches the girls how to code. <q> The bracelets are completely functional out of the box, but the idea is that girls will want to personalize them by using the Arduino IDE to program specific commands — like when I get a Facebook message from the boy I like, buzz once and flash blue, but when Mom texts, buzz three times and flash red. </q> 😛

Well! As the problem didn’t solve, I asked on octave mailing list. Then I prepared for the presentation on IRC – XChat for GUI and irssi for console mode. After preparing for that, I started a small course on Cybersecurity at Khan Academy. But, at this time I was feeling dozy, so decided to sleep after having a last look at mailing lists. There was a mail by Amarjeet that he has completed image processing in sage and was asking from others. Felt sad a little bit, didn’t reply. I will complete this work today. The whole day I spent on learning and the work was still pending. 😦 As my mum always says, “Na sutti Na Kateya”. Pata ni ki ho geya. Whatever it was, but was amazing experience. I missed TCC a lot, no doubt. What I came to know from this experience is- focus, strong determination and will power can slap any obstruction, whichever the place you are working from. It hardly matters. All are excuses. I accept my fault that I am just the perfect creation of God with a little touch of perplexity. 😛 This was all I did and now ‘ll wait for my mentor’s response and feedback.

Published by

kaurdavinder

I am the one who discover myself daily through reading, writing, interacting with people and expressing my thoughts to inspire them if I would be able to bring a little change to the society through my work. I write blogs, participate in various social activities and want to be a Professional Speaker. Currently, I am pursuing my post graduation in Computer Applications from Guru Nanak Dev Engineering College, Ludhiana and I’m very much active in many technical & social communities.

Leave a Reply

