Day 24 and 25

Today, I tried to install octave-forge by configuring the package ‘octave-image’. This package includes many additional features for image processing like feature extraction, spatial and geometric transformation, morphological operations, linear filtering and much more. So, for image processing, this tool could be a great help.

When I read about this, I got to know that I have to install lots of package for this. So I searched for an easy way. I found the command to install at once. The command was:

sudo apt-get install $( apt-cache search octave-forge | awk '{printf $1; printf " "}' )

There were so many dependencies, it asked for. When I installed, I came to the following error:

http://pastie.org/10258154

I searched on Google and found that the package is not compatible with the latest octave-4.0.0. Now I tried to remove this and failed. I updated-failed. I tried to install other things – failed. Nothing is working. I’m stuck here.

On the next day, I asked from Mandeep. He was busy with Librehatti. I posted on GD, again read about this, got nothing. At the end of the I got reply from Vigas on the mail and used the command-

sudo apt-get install -f

No, effect. Why I used this, I was searching and got another reply from mandeep on the mailing list. Here, I got proper idea, tried to remove the things, but didn’t work. I don’t know what to do. All are busy with their works and I don’t wanna disturb any, but I need at least a hint. May be I’m doing something wrong. Well! What should I do? I don’t know, may be more search. But I have already wasted my two days. I did nothing fruitful in last 25 days. No doubt I learned a lot but my target is still far away and I have only 5 days left. Because of fresh OS, now I have to install many things on my lapi and this problem. 😦 What to do? I’m seeking for help here. Any idea if you wanna me to do it by my own?

Well! there were some other things too that I’ve done. Like read all mails, blogs of GD members, family time, frustration, discussion with my father about my career. He found me out of track. “Daant pai gayi.” 😛 Back to track now. At the end, read about python and went to sleep.

Published by

kaurdavinder

I am the one who discover myself daily through reading, writing, interacting with people and expressing my thoughts to inspire them if I would be able to bring a little change to the society through my work. I write blogs, participate in various social activities and want to be a Professional Speaker. Currently, I am pursuing my post graduation in Computer Applications from Guru Nanak Dev Engineering College, Ludhiana and I’m very much active in many technical & social communities.

Leave a Reply

