How can I empty the trash using terminal?

The trash folder is located under:

/home/user_name/ .local/share/Trash

In order to access it, you can use the following:

cd ~/.local/share/Trash

The folder might not exist here. I could not be visible to you unless you delete something from the filesystem. Empty Trash will not be displayed.

Use the following command to directly remove the content/files from the Trash:

rm -rf ~/.local/share/Trash/*

Here,
rm command will remove(delete) the files or directories.
-f : –force Ignore non-existant files and never prompt before removing.
-r or -R: –recursive(Remove directories and their contents recursively).
*:  for all

That’s all.

Published by

kaurdavinder

I am the one who discover myself daily through reading, writing, interacting with people and expressing my thoughts to inspire them if I would be able to bring a little change to the society through my work. I write blogs, participate in various social activities and want to be a Professional Speaker. Currently, I am pursuing my post graduation in Computer Applications from Guru Nanak Dev Engineering College, Ludhiana and I’m very much active in many technical & social communities.

Leave a Reply

